Thursday, 21 February 2013

Doctor Who Vs. Oliver Twist (1985)

Literary classic Oliver Twist (also known as The Parish Boy's Progress, and originally published monthly in Bentley's Miscellany from 1837-39) was only Charles Dickens' second novel.
The first television adaptation of Oliver Twist was produced by the BBC in 1962, followed by a second, more faithful version in 1985.
The latter was produced by Doctor Who luminary Terrance Dicks as part of the corporation's Classic Serial strand, which ran regularly on Sunday afternoons for twenty years from 1975. 
The cast here was led by Eric Porter as Fagin, with the famous orphan now portrayed by Ben Rodska. The twelve-part series first aired from October to December 1985, and  featured twenty-three further Doctor Who cast and crew connections:
  • Terry Molloy (Brittles) was the third actor to play Davros (pictured) on TV from Resurrection of the Daleks, a role he reprised for Big Finish's audio series I, Davros (2006) and further plays Davros (2003), The Juggernauts, Terror Firma (both 2005), The Davros Mission (2007), Masters of War (2008), and The Curse of Davros (2012), and even on stage for The Trial of Davros (2005) - he was also Russell in Attack of the Cybermen, and voiced Magus Riga for Kingdom of Silver, an Examiner for Keepsake (both 2008), Dr Christopher Wallace and the Rat King for Rat Trap (2011), and Lord Ampthill for Jago and Litefoot: The Hourglass Killers (2012)
  • Brian Badcoe (Magistrate) was Adam in Invasion of the Dinosaurs
  • June Brown (Mrs Mann) was Lady Eleanor in The Time Warrior
  • Donald Eccles (Limbkins) was Krasis in The Time Monster
  • Davyd Harries (White) was Shapp in The Armageddon Factor
  • Nicholas McArdle (Master) was De Vries in The Stones of Blood
  • Edward Burnham (Grimwig) was professors Watkins and Kettlewell in The Invasion and Robot respectively
  • Lysette Anthony (Rose/Agnes) voiced Clara Harris for Assassin in the Limelight (BF, 2008) and Hazel Bright for Hothouse (BF, 2009)
  • Michael Attwell (Bill Sikes) was Isbur in The Ice Warriors, and Bates in Attack of the Cybermen
  • Godfrey James (Mr Bumble) was Tarn in Underworld
  • Gillian Martell (Mrs Maylie) was Lily Gregson in K9 and Company
  • Chrsitian Rodska (Barney) voiced Laan Carder for Faith Stealer (BF, 2004) and the Reverand Small for Hornets Nest: The Dead Shoes (AudioGo, 2011)
  • Miriam Margolyes (Mrs Corney) voiced Leef Apple Glyn Slitheen-Blathereen in The Sarah Jane Adventures: The Gift, and Frau Tod for The Beast of Orlok (BF, 2009)
  • Christopher Driscoll (Crackit) was the Security Guard in The Idiot's Lantern
  • Janet Henfrey (Martha) was Miss Hardaker in The Curse of Fenric
  • Mark Bassenger (Cabbie) made his TV debut as a Cyberman in The Five Doctors
  • David McKail (Dr Losberne) was Sergeant Kyle in The Talons of Weng Chiang
  • Harry Fielder (Big Man) made fifteen 'classic' Who appearances, as a Guard (in serials PP, ZZZ, 4L, 4P, 5A, 5F, 5Z), a Crewman (SS, 4T), a Vogan (4D), an Assassin (4Q), a Tigellan (5Q), and a Krarg in Shada 
  • Leslie Schofield (Patterer) was Leroy in The War Games, and Calib in The Face of Evil
  • Henry Stamper (Fang) was Anton in The Enemy of the World
  • production manager Nigel Taylor began his career as assistant director on The Stones of Blood
  • script editor Brian Wright as a former actor was Dassuk in The Ark
  • incidential music was provided by Dudley Simpson, the composer on almost 300 episodes of the 'classic' series, from Planet of the Giants (1964) to The Horns of Nimon (1980)

No comments:

Post a Comment