Sunday, 22 February 2015

Doctor Who Vs. Silk, Series 1

This popular legal drama series, created by prolific screen writer Peter Moffat, began on BBC One in February 2011. 
With female QCs (Queen's Counsels or 'silks') in a tiny minority, Northern barrister Martha Costello (portrayed here by Bolton-born actress Maxine Peake) is anxious to join that elite number progressing through the courts of London. For season one, Martha was joined at the fictional Shoe Lane Chambers by Clive Reader (Rupert Penry-Jones), Billy Lamb (Neil Stuke), Nick Slade (Tom Hughes), and Niamh Cranitch (Natalie Dormer).
A six-part, repeat run of Silk concluded on the Drama channel last night, and featured twenty-six Doctor Who cast and crew connections:
  • Stuke voiced the titular villain of Big Finish's The Crooked Man (2014)
  • series regular Nina Sosanya (Kate Brockman) was Trish Webber in Fear Her
  • Owen Teale (Frogett) was Maldak in Vengeance on Varos, and voiced Hayton for The Mind's Eye (2007)
  • Gerard Horan (DS Scarrow) and Pip Torrens (Maikin) both appeared in Human Nature and The Family of Blood, as Mr. Clark and Headmaster Rocastle 
  • Big Finish artist Philip Bretherton (Haig) voiced Plenipotentiary Suskind for Arrangements for War (2004), Scrivener for Recorded Time, Darcy, D'Urberville and Heathcliff all for A Most Excellent Match (both 2011), and Vituperon for Philip Hinchcliffe Presents: The Devil's Armada (2014)
  • Kerry Godliman (WPC Banks) voiced Karen for both The Eight Truths and Worldwide Web (both 2009)
  • Adrian Schiller (Zeigler) was Uncle in The Doctor's Wife, and voiced Zanith for Time Works (2006)
  • Sheila Ruskin (Magistrate) was Kassia in The Keeper of Traken
  • Rupert Wickham (Wiles) voiced Captain Dudgeon for No Man's Land (2006) and Faber for Survival of the Fittest (2010)
  • Fenella Woolgar (Wendy) was Agatha Christie in The Unicorn and the Wasp, and voiced Commander Hellan Femor for The Company of Friends: Fitz's Story (2009), and Morella Wendigo for Nevermore (2010)
  • Paul Thornley (Turley) voiced Marko for Seven Keys to Doomsday (2008), Michael Rond also for Fitz's Story, and Gomori for Paper Cuts (2009)
  • Adrian Dunbar (Gillespie) voiced McCarthy for Brave New Town (Big Finish, 2008)
  • Diana Quick (Justice Frank) voiced Prime for Scream of the Shalka
  • Ariyon Bakare (Antwi) has been cast in Series 9
  • Sam Graham (Cutler) voiced McMullan for Destination Nerva (BF, 2012)
  • Peter Hamilton Dyer (Clerk) began his TV career as Embery in Remembrance of the Daleks
  • Greg Donaldson (Gaoler) voiced Coach Bela Destry for The Game (BF, 2005)
  • director (of episodes 5 and 6) Catherine Morshead also helmed Amy's Choice and The Lodger
  • writer (of episode 5) Steve Thompson also scripted The Curse of the Black Spot, Journey to the Centre of the TARDIS, Time Heist and The Science of Doctor Who
  • Jake Jackson was also the music mixer on seventy-one stories, from The Runaway Bride to The Time of the Doctor
  • Iain Erskine was film editor on Nightmare in Silver too
  • Lewis Peake was also an art department assistant on Planet of the Dead and The Waters of Mars
  • Adam Harvey was the assistant editor on An Adventure in Space and Time too
  • David Foster was also the orchestrator on seventy-six installments, from Voyage of the Damned to Last Christmas
  • Tom Lucy was also the stunt co-ordinator on sixteen episodes, from Smith and Jones to The Next Doctor
  • Gordon Seed was a stuntman on nineteen adventures and the stunt co-ordinator on another eleven, from Series 2 to The Time of the Doctor

No comments:

Post a Comment