Monday, 4 January 2016

Doctor Who Vs. A Dorothy L. Sayers Mystery: Strong Poison

The last television adaptation of Dorothy L. Sayers' (1893-1957) crime novels originally aired on BBC1
in 1987, and starred Edward Petherbridge as Lord 
Peter Wimsey and Harriet Walter as Harriet Vane.
This ten-part series followed two live TV versions 
of Sayers' stageplay Busman's Honeymoon 
(in 1947 and 1957), and five serials (with Ian 
Carmichael as Wimsey) shown between 1972 
and 1975.
The Corporation was unable to secure the rights 
for a third rendition of Busman's Honeymoon for 
this series. The first, three-part serial, Strong Poison was based on Sayers' fifth Wimsey novel, published in 1930.
Another repeat run of the mystery concluded 
on the Drama channel last night, and featured 
Geoffrey Beevers (as Ryland Vaughan) and 
twenty-three other Doctor Who cast and crew connections:
  • David Quilter (CI Parker) was Greeves in The Unicorn and the Wasp
  • Preston Lockwood (Judge) was Dojjen in Snakedance
  • Ronald Leigh-Hunt (Biggs) was Commanders, Julian Radnor in The Seeds of Death, and Stevenson in Revenge of the Cybermen
  • Timothy Bateson (Pond) was Binro in The Ribos Operation
  • Patrick Carter (Usher) was the Bosun in The Chase: Flight Through Eternity
  • Stewart Bevan (Sergeant) was Professor Clifford Jones (pictured with Katy Manning) in The Green Death
  • Jo Rowbottom (Mrs. Bullfinch) was Mollie Dawson in The Evil of the Daleks
  • Bernard Martin (Reporter) was a Control Room Assistant in (episode 2 of) The Ambassadors of Death
  • Barbara Gosnold was the production designer on The Invasion of Time too
  • Richard Croft was also the costume designer on Delta and the BannermenDragonfireThe Happiness Patrol and Silver Nemesis
  • Clare Graham was the production manager on The Mysterious Planet too
  • Richard Manton was also film recordist on The Daemons and The Mutants
  • production manager Nicholas Laughland was the assistant floor manager (AFM) on Earthshock
  • Alan Machin was also the sound supervisor on The Android InvasionFour to DoomsdayKindaThe VisitationBlack Orchid and Earthshock
  • OB camera supervisor Mike Winser was a camera operator on (part 1 of) The Stones of Blood, and the Daleks: The Early Years VHS release
  • Doug Whittaker also worked on OB sound for Time and the Rani, Paradise Towers (4), Delta and the BannermenRemembrance of the Daleks and The Greatest Show in the Galaxy
  • Colin Mapson was also VFX designer on The Green DeathThe Hand of FearImage of the FendahlThe Invasion of TimeThe Pirate PlanetNightmare of Eden and Time and the Rani
  • Paul Wheeler was a film cameraman on The Awakening too
  • John Mason also worked on OB lighting for RobotThe Talons of Weng-Chiang and The Ultimate Foe
  • Clive Thomas worked on studio lighting for The Three Doctors and Carnival of Monsters too
  • Shirley Coward was also vision mixer on (episode 1 of) The Tenth PlanetTerror of the Autons (1), Frontier in Space (5), Underworld (1), The Five Doctors, Terror of the Vervoids, The Ultimate Foe, Paradise Towers, Delta and the BannermenDragonfire, Remembrance of the Daleks and The Happiness Patrol
  • Monica Rodger was a production assistant on Nightmare of Eden too
  • Bob Warman was technical co-ordinator on The Smugglers too

Carmichael (1920-2010) first played Wimsey in Clouds of Witness (published in 1926), shown on BBC1 in April to May 1972. This five-part mystery, dramatised by Anthony Steven (who later scripted The Twin Dilemma), featured Glyn Houston (as Wimsey's valet Bunter, here and The Nine Tailors and Five Red Herrings), Anthony Ainley (Cathcart), Kate O'Mara (Cynthia), and twenty-
five further Doctor Who cast and crew connections:
  • director Hugh David had also helmed The Highlanders and Fury from the Deep
  • series production designer Raymond Cusick also designed forty-two early episodes
  • make-up artists Monica Ludkin and Rhian Davies both began their careers on The Time Meddler and The Claws of Axos (3/4) respectively
  • Norman Bennett (sound), Dennis Channon (studio lighting), and John McGlashan (film cameraman) all held those post on the classic series
  • film editor Chris Wimble (here and Murder Must Advertise) also edited The Ambassadors of Death, The Daemons, The Invasion of Time and (part 1 of) The Leisure Hive
  • Mark Eden (DI Parker here, The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club and Murder Must Advertise, both 1973), Francis De Wolff, George Coulouris, John Wyse, John Franklyn-Robbins, John Bryans, Eric Francis, Anthony Jacobs, Noel Coleman, Andre Maranne, Alan Judd, Graham Leaman, Kenneth Benda, Richard Beale, George Cormack, Graham Rigby, and Bill Burridge

No comments:

Post a Comment