Sunday, 21 February 2016

Doctor Who Vs. House of Cards

Adapted by prolific screenwriter Andrew Davies, 
from the novel by Michael Dobbs (1990), this 
political thriller first aired on BBC1 in November 
and December 1990, coincidentally during the 
Tory party's leadership election following Prime 
Minister Thatcher's resignation.
The four-part series spawned two sequels, To Play
The King (1993) and The Final Cut (1995), and was remade for American TV in 2013, with Kevin Spacey
as Francis Underwood. This trilogy of dramas earned
a total of fourteen BAFTA award nominations, winning two and an Emmy. House of Cards was voted 84th in the BFI TV 100 poll of 2000, and began another repeat run on the Drama channel yesterday.
The cast was led here by the ever brilliant Edinburgh-born actor, Ian Richardson (1934-
2007) as the machiavellian Conservative chief
whip, Francis Urquhart, and featured twenty-
eight Doctor Who cast and crew connections:

  • Susannah Harker (Mattie Storin) voiced Clare Keightley for Big Finish's Shada (2003), and Anya for Dark Eyes 4: Eye of Darkness (2015)
  • director Paul Seed, a former actor, had played the Graff Vynda-K in The Ribos Operation
  • Malcolm Tierney (Woolton) was Doland in Terror of the Vervoids
  • Colin Jeavons (Stamper) was Damon in The Underwater Menace, and George Tracey in K9 and Company
  • Christopher Owen (McKenzie) was an Earthling in Meglos
  • Kenneth Gilbert (Earle) was Richard Dunbar in The Seeds of Doom
  • John Arnatt (Grainger) was Chancellor Borusa in The Invasion of Time 
  • Richard Braine (Spence) voiced Percy Closed for The English Way of Death (BF, 2015)
  • Robert Ashby (Presenter) was the Borad in Timelash
  • David Blake Kelly (Goodman) was Captain Briggs in The Chase: Flight Through Eternity, and Jacob Kewper in The Smugglers
  • Sally Faulkner (Minister) was Isobel Watkins in The Invasion, and voiced Miss Tremayne for Winter for the Adept (BF, 2000)
  • Colin Dudley (Speaker) was a former production manager on (episode 6 of) The Sea Devils, and The Invasion of Time
  • Tariq Yunus (Jhabwala) was Cass in The Robots of Death
  • Gertan Klauber (Blackhead) was the Galley Master in The Romans, and Ola in The Macra Terror
  • Nadim Sawalha (Manager) voiced Swapnil Khan for The Magic Mousetrap (BF, 2009) and the Old Man for 1001 Nights (BF, 2012) 
  • Geoffrey Bateman (Interviewer) was Dymond in Nightmare of Eden
  • Ian Collier (Man at Clinic) was Stuart Hyde in The Time Monster, and Omega in Arc of Infinity
  • John Pirkis (Young Man) provided a Sphere voice for The Sound of Drums and Last of the Time Lords
  • Robin Wentworth (Newlands) was Professor Horner in The Daemons
  • Big Finish artist Nick Brimble (Corder) voiced Shreeni for Exotron (2007), Kith for Max Warp (2008), Dudley Jackson for The Eternal Summer (2009), and Olaf Eriksson for The Book of Kells (2010)
  • stunt arranger Gareth Milne was George Cranleigh in Black Orchid, a Mortuary Attendant in Vengeance on Varos, and doubled for Peter Davison on Warriors of the Deep
  • Tina Maskell was a stuntman on Boom Town and The Runaway Bride too
  • cinematographer Ian Punter was an assistant on (part 6 of) Planet of the Spiders, and film cameraman on Resurrection of the Daleks
  • film editor Howard Billingham edited The Mind of Evil too
  • production designer Ken Ledsham also designed The Ribos OperationDestiny of the Daleks and The King's Demons
  • costume designer Rosalind Ebbutt began her TV career on Black Orchid
  • first assistant director Nigel Taylor was AFM on The Stones of Blood
  • Barrie Tharby was also film recordist on Attack of the Cybermen and The Mark of the Rani

No comments:

Post a Comment