Wednesday, 14 September 2016

Doctor Who Vs. Casualty, Series 3

Geraint Morris (1941-1997) continued to produce this popular BBC1 medical drama, and the majority of the regular cast remained unchanged. Joining
the programme here were Susan Franklyn (as administrator Valerie Sinclair), Paul Lacoux (as Dr. David Rowe), Julie Graham, Shaheen Khan (student nurses Alison McGrellis and Kiran Joghill), and Carol Leader (receptionist Sandie Timkins). 
With the exception of Franklyn, 
all of the incoming actors left 
this series at its conclusion.
Bernard Gallagher chose to leave the show, so his character Ewart Plimmer
was killed off in Burn OutElla Wilder (paramedic Shirley Franklin) and
Christopher Rozycki (porter Kuba Trzcinski) both departed in the finale.
The third season (now with a reduced run of ten episodes) was originally
broadcast from September to November 1988, and featured Caroline John
(as Edith Howlett), Mark Strickson (Registrar), and twenty-five other Doctor 
Who cast and crew connections:

  • director (of thirty-two episodes from 1988-2015) Michael Owen Morris also helmed The Awakening
  • Lacoux (Rowe) voiced Dr. Mathias for Big Finish's The Harvest (2004)
  • Franklyn (Sinclair) voiced Jarmaya and Tace for Mission to Magnus (BF, 2009), and Hypatia for The Library of Alexandria (BF, 2013)
  • Graham (Alison) was Ruby White in The Sarah Jane Adventures: Goodbye, Sarah Jane Smith, and voiced Prime Minister 470 for The New Adventures of Bernice Summerfield: The Unbound Universe (BF, 2016)
  • Bernard Horsfall (Baxter here; Dr. Upchurch, 1991; Lassiter, 1995) was Lemual Gulliver in The Mind Robber, a Time Lord in The War Games, Taron in Planet of the Daleks, Chancellor Goth in The Deadly Assassin, and voiced Arnold Baynes for Davros (BF, 2003)
  • Julia Deakin (Jill) voiced Hannah Fry for Phantasmagoria (BF, 1999), and Harriet Griffin for Terror Firma (BF, 2005)
  • Kenneth Cope (Higgs) was Packard in Warriors' Gate
  • Stewart Bevan (Pollard) was Professor Clifford Jones The Green Death
  • Julian Wadham (Rev. Vassar) voiced Augustus Scullop for The Fourth Wall (BF, 2012), and Joseph Holman for The Darkness of Glass (BF, 2015)
  • John Ringham (Cunningham) was Tlotoxl in The Aztecs, Josiah Blake in The Smugglers, and Robert Ashe in Colony in Space
  • Daphne Oxenford (Mrs. Johnson) was the Archivist in Dragonfire
  • Gabrielle Glaister (Beverley) voiced Maggie Bishop for The Early Adventures: The Forsaken (BF, 2015)
  • Rob Jarvis (Philip here; Mike, 1998; Cheadle, 2008) was Abramal in The Time of the Doctor
  • David Garfield (Lockhart here; Meyrick, 2007) was Von Weich in The War Games, and Neeva in The Face of Evil
  • Rita Davies (Dr. Wilson here; Sheila, 1999; Florence, 2004; Helen, 2013)  voiced Janneus for Primeval (BF, 2001)
  • Simon Slater (Rupert) was Edwardes in Terror of the Vervoids
  • John Challis (Harry) was Scorby in The Seeds of Doom, and voiced Rosser for The Trouble With Drax (BF, 2016)
  • Jimmy Gardner (Joshua) was Chenchu in Marco Polo, and Idmon in Underworld
  • Sharon Duce (Thea here; Isabel, 1996; Alesia, 2004; Sheila, 2008; Meg, 2016) was Control in Ghost Light
  • Paul Alexander (Howard) made his TV debut as a Soldier in The Mind Robber
  • Albert Welling (Terence) portrayed the titular F├║hrer in Let's Kill Hitler
  • Clive Mantle (Forbes here; Dr. Mike Barratt, 1992-1998) voiced Oliver Cromwell for The Settling (BF, 2006), Tuvold for The Burning Prince (BF, 2012), and both Tillegat and Lieutenant Treeves for Destroy the Infinite (BF, 2014)
  • Andrew Morgan also directed Time and the Rani and Remembrance of the Daleks
  • first assistant director Kevan Van Thompson was the production manager on Mindwarp
  • Mat Irvine (an assistant on episode 1 of The Curse of Peladon and part 1 of Planet of the Spiders) also the VFX designer on The Face of Evil, The Invisible Enemy (1), The Stones of Blood, The Creature from the Pit, Warriors' Gate, Warriors of the Deep and K9 and Company

No comments:

Post a Comment