Tuesday, 3 January 2017

Doctor Who Vs. Young Sherlock Holmes

Shown again on Film 4 last night, this film - subtitled The Pyramid of Fear in the UK - depicts the first meeting of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson as teenagers. As students at Brompton Academy, Holmes and Watson soon become embroiled in a  typical Amblin family adventure - they uncover the secret Egyptian cult of Rame Tep. Based inside a wooden pyramid, hidden in a warehouse in Wapping, the cult is led by Eh-Tar - an anagram of Rathe, Holmes' school master. A coda that follows the end credits sees the Professor (Anthony Higgins) flee London and adopt the alias of Moriarty!
Released by Paramount in 1985, Young Sherlock Holmes was produced by Steven Spielberg, and written by Chris Columbus, and featured these fifteen Doctor Who 
cast and crew connections:
  • Nicholas Rowe (Holmes here; cameo in Mr. Holmes) voiced Rivesh Mantilax for Dreamland
  • Big Finish actor Alan Cox (Watson here; Professor James Moriarty for The Final Problem; and Agamemnon for The Sacrifice of Sherlock Holmesvoiced John Matthews for The Roof of the World (2004), Mark Seven for The Daleks: The Destroyers (2010)Grenville for The Auntie Matter (2013), Dr. Gideon McDivett for The Ghosts of Gralstead (2014), the titular Grim Reaper for Death and the Queen, Robert Harley, Speravore and Warder all for The Diary of River Song 2 (both 2016), and Eamon Orensky for both The Skin of the Sleek and The Thief of Time (2017) - he is the son of actor Brian Cox
  • Sophie Ward (Elizabeth) voiced the Storyteller for Serpent Crest: Aladdin Time (AudioGo, 2011)
  • Nigel Stock (Waxflatter here; Dr. Watson in the BBC's Sherlock Holmes) was Professor Hayter in Time Flight
  • Roger Ashton-Griffiths (Inspector Lestrade) was Quayle in Robot of Sherwood
  • Donald Eccles (Nesbit) was Krasis in The Time Monster
  • Patrick Newell (Bobster here; Lestrade in Sherlock Holmes and Doctor Watson; and Blessington in The Resident Patient) was Colonel Faraday in The Android Invasion
  • Roger Brierley (Mr. Holmes) was Trevor in The Daleks' Master Plan: Volcano, and provided the voice of Drathro in The Mysterious Planet
  • Nadim Sawalha (Khasek) voiced Swapnil Khan for The Magic Mousetrap (BF, 2009) and the Old Man for 1001 Nights (BF, 2012)
  • John Scott Martin (Caretaker) was a stalwart of the classic series, with appearances in seventy-six episodes - usually as a Dalek operator - from The Web Planet (1965) to Remembrance of the Daleks (1988) - a complete list of Martin's roles is available at IMDB
  • stunt performer Tracey Eddon doubled for Sophie Aldred, also for serial 7H
  • stunt arranger Marc Boyle was also a stuntman for Terror of the Autons, a fight arranger on The Time Warrior, and had roles as a Prisoner and UNIT Motorcyclist in The Mind of Evil, Kronos in The Time Monster, and an Exxilon in Death to the Daleks
  • fencing instructor Arthur Howell was a Confederate Horseman in The War Games
  • stuntman Steve Whyment was an extra in The Keeper of Traken and Snakedance
  • Peter Bennett  was also the first assistant director on fourteen revived series episodes (from Bad Wolf to The End of Time)The Attack of the Graske and Torchwood, the production manager on four Series 4 adventures, and produced nineteen stories (from The Beast Below to Series 10)

No comments:

Post a Comment