Tuesday, 14 February 2017

Doctor Who Vs. Inspector Morse: Service of All the Dead

This drama, the third instalment of Central's BAFTA 
winning crime series, first aired in January 1987,
and was repeated again on ITV3 yesterday.
The serial was based on Colin Dexter's fourth novel, published in 1979, and again starred John Thaw
(1942-2002) as the titular detective, and Kevin
Whately (born 1951) as Sergeant Robbie Lewis.
Service of All the Dead, set around St. Frideswides 
church in Oxford, closely follows the book's narrative, and featured thirteen Doctor Who cast and crew

  • John Normington (Pawlen) played Trau Morgus (pictured) in The Caves of Androzani, and Trevor Sigma in The Happiness Patrol
  • Norman Jones (CS Bell) was Khrisong in The Abominable Snowmen, Major Baker in The Silurians, and Hieronymous in The Masque of Mandragora
  • Maurice O'Connell (Josephs) was Cockerill in Frontios
  • Michael Goldie (Jimmy) was Jack Craddock in The Dalek Invasion of Earth, and Elton Laleham in The Wheel in Space
  • Richardson Morgan (Landlord) was Corporal Blake in The Web of Fear, and Rogin in The Ark in Space
  • Harold Innocent (Archdeacon) was Gilbert M, also for serial 7L, and voiced Freeth for The Paradise of Death - with Jean Marsh, he is the only other Doctor Who actor to appear in The Twilight Zone (1959-1964)
  • James Greene (Counsel) was the Abbott in The Bells of Saint John
  • Joanna Wake (Nurse) voiced Miss Faversham for Big Finish's UNIT: Silenced (2016)
  • for Peter Woodthorpe (Max), series producer Kenny McBain, and stuntmen Terry Forrestal and Valentino Musett, see my blog for The Dead of Jericho
  • assembly editor Michael Feinberg was the sound editor on The Lazarus Experiment and ten instalments of The Sarah Jane Adventures

No comments:

Post a Comment