Tuesday, 9 January 2018

Doctor Who Vs. Ashes to Ashes, Series 2

Another repeat run of BBC One's sequel series 
to Life On Mars began on the Drama channel last 
night. Actors Keeley Hawes, Philip Glenister, 
Marshall Lancaster, Dean Andrews and Montserrat 
Lombard all reprised their respective roles (as DI
Alex Drake, DCI Gene Hunt, DC Chris Skelton, 
DS Ray Carling and WPC Shaz Granger) for the 
second run of Ashes to Ashesnow set in 1982. 
Hawes later appeared as both Ms. Delphox and
Director Karabraxos in Time Heist.
The second, eight-part season was originally 
transmitted from April 20 to June 8 2009, and featured David Bradley (as Robin Elliot in part 
three) and thirty-four further Doctor Who cast 
and crew connections:

  • for other regular cast members Geff Francis and Joseph Long and returning personnel Matthew Graham, Beth Willis, Julie ScottCatherine Morshead, Edmund Butt, Simon Blackledge, Antonia Grant and Derek Lea see my blog for Series 1
  • Adrian Dunbar (Summers) voiced McCarthy for Big Finish's Brave New Town (2008)
  • Deirdre Mullins (Nurse) voiced Fleet Admiral Effenish for The New Adventures of Bernice Summerfield 3: The Unbound Universe (BF, 2016), and Osen for The War Master 1: Only the Good (2017)
  • Pooky Quesnel (Ruth) was the Captain in A Christmas Carol
  • Joseph Millson (Battleford) was Alan Jackson in the first two seasons of The Sarah Jane Adventures
  • Rory Kinnear (Jeremy) voiced Samuel Belfrage for Industrial Evolution (2011)
  • Robert Portal (Pattison) voiced Marshal Ney for The Curse of Davros (2012), and Reggie for The Auntie Matter (2013)
  • Adrian Schiller (Lawyer) was Uncle in The Doctor's Wife, and voiced Zanith for Time Works (2006)
  • Sara Stewart (Gaynor) provided the Computer voice for The End of the World
  • Tom Georgeson (Mitchell) was Kavell in Genesis of the Daleks, and Police Inspector in Logopolis
  • Daisy Haggard (Donna) was Sophie in The Lodger and Closing Time
  • Big Finish actor Gwilym Lee (Summers) voiced Count Rolf Wittenmeier for The Silver Turk (2011), Djahn and Lord Edgar for The Emerald Tiger (2012), Pretty Swanson for Spaceport Fear, and Jack Hodges for Phantoms of the Deep (both 2013)
  • John R Walker (Czarnecki) was a Cured Patient in New Earth, an Injured Man in Evolution of the Daleks, and a Sales Rep in Planet of the Ood
  • Mark Straker (Doctor) made his TV debut as the Second Trooper in Earthshock
  • Michael Gould (Pathologist) voiced Frederick Lindemann for The Churchill Years 1 (2016)
  • Greg Donaldson (Guard) voiced Coach Bela Destry for The Game (2005), and David for Power Play (2012)
  • Simon Sherlock (Bent Copper) voiced Kelsa for The Raincloud Man (2008)
  • Chris Pollard (Doyle) was a stuntman on Robot of Sherwood
  • new line producer Patrick Schweitzer first worked on the revived series as location manager on The Runaway Bride, then was production manager on six stories for Series 3, and produced all thirteen episodes of Series 5
  • Simon Archer was cinematographer on The Lodger too
  • Toby Wood (score engineer) and Ian Adrian both worked on An Adventure in Space and Time - the latter was also a camera operator on The Vampires of VeniceThe Hungry EarthCold BloodVincent and the Doctor and The Lodger 
  • production co-ordinator Holly Pullinger was the production manager on The Eleventh HourThe Time of AngelsFlesh and StoneThe Vampires of Venice and Vincent and the Doctor
  • stunt co-ordinator Crispin Layfield has held that post on fifty-six instalments of the revived series (from Smith and Jones to the present)
  • Stephanie Carey was also a stunt performer on Voyage of the Damned, The Beast BelowThe Curse of the Black SpotLet's Kill HitlerThe Girl Who WaitedThe Angels Take Manhattan and The Crimson Horror

No comments:

Post a Comment