Monday, 12 March 2018

Doctor Who Vs. Endeavour, Series 5

Shaun Evans returned as Colin Dexter's erudite detective, Endeavour Morse
and was again joined by Roger Allam
(as DI Thursday), Anton Lesser 
(Superintendent  Bright), Sean Rigby (DS Strange), Dakota Blue Richards
 (WPC Trewlove), James Bradshaw 
(Dr. DeBryn),Caroline O'Neill (Win), 
and Abigail Thaw (Dorothea Frazil).
The Inspector Morse prequel drama 
(a co-production from Mammoth Screen 
and Masterpiece) was now set in 1968, 
and began with Morse newly promoted
 to Detective Sergeant, and Oxford City 
Police set to merge into Thames Valley Constabulary. Meanwhile, Oxford City
CID's newest DC, George Fancy (Lewis 
Peek) debuted here and Joan Thursday (Sara Vickers) has returned home.
Icarus then saw the murder of Fancy and Truelove's subsequent transfer.
Endeavour will return next year.
The fifth season (now extended to six parts and again all written by Russell 
Lewis) concluded oITV last night, and featured twenty-six Doctor Who 
cast and crew connections: 

Muse (TX: February 4)
  • Rhys Isaac Jones (Bell) voiced Thomas Laneford for Big Finish's Class 1 (2018)
  • Emily Barber (Lucy) voiced Elidh for The War Master 1 (2018)
  • Nathalie Buscombe (Cassie) voiced Jane Austen for False Coronets (2018)
  • Tanya Fear (Jasmine) was cast in Arachnids in the UK
  • Mark Arden (Nero) was a Tharil in Warriors' Gate
Cartridge (TX: February 11)
  • Donald Sumpter (Valdemar) was Enrico Casali in The Wheel in Space, Commander Ridgeway in The Sea Devils, Erasmus Darkening in The Sarah Jane Adventures: The Eternity Trap, and President Rassilon in Hell Bent
  • Phil Daniels (Charlie) voiced Geoffrey Plum for The Gunpowder Plot
  • Alan David (Kegworth here; Davies in Twilight of the Gods) was Gabriel Sneed in The Unquiet Dead, and voiced Castellan Kanteer for The War Doctor 4: The Enigma Dimension (BF, 2017)
  • Simon Dutton (De Vere) was Alistair in The Time of Angels
  • Robin Weaver (Molly) voiced Edwige Ponzi for The New Counter Measures 1 (BF, 2016), and Arianda for The Third Doctor Adventures 3: Storm of the Horofax (BF, 2017)
  • David Shaw Parker (Commissionaire here; Sergeant in Deceived by Flight) voiced Generals Mikhail Leonov and Paterson for 1963: The Space Race (BF, 2013), and Old David Walker for Dark Eyes 2: Eyes of the Master (2014)
Passenger (TX: February 18)
  • Lizzy Watts (Heather) voiced Eve Pritchard and Mi'en Kalarash for House of Blue Fire (2011)
  • Tom Lucy was also the stunt co-ordinator on sixteen adventures (from Smith and Jones to The Next Doctor)
Colours (TX: February 25)
  • Greg Austin (Hutchens) was Charlie Smith in Class
  • Robert Portal (Major Coward) voiced Marshal Ney for The Curse of Davros (2012), and Reggie for The Auntie Matter (2013)
  • Steven Elder (Barker) voiced Farrow for Jubilee (2003), and Rawden for Something Inside (2006)
  • Dominic Thorburn (Dr. Laidlaw) voiced Afrid for We Are the Daleks, and Brejesh and Security Leader for Planet of the Rani (both 2015)
  • Ray Sesay (Oswald) was Dr. [Martin Luther] King in Rosa
  • Sam Marks (Farridge) was Wiggins in The Shakespeare Code
Quartet (TX: March 4)
  • Brendan Patricks (Singleton) was Edmund and Thursday in The Crimson Horror
  • Ellie Haddington (Bagshot) was Professor Alison Docherty in Last of the Time Lords
  • Anthony Combes was film editor on The Wedding of River Song too
Icarus (TX: March 11)
  • Anson Boon (Brett) voiced Peter Dillard for Class 2 (2018)
  • Richard Price (Mourner) was Guest in The Runaway Bride and The Lazarus Experiment, Passerby in Partners in Crime, Takran Soldier in  The Doctor's Daughter, Cyberman in The Doctor Falls, and Shadow Kin in Class
  • Simon Archer was cinematographer on The Lodger too
  • Nicholas Brown was also first assistant director on eight episodes (from The Curse of the Black Spot to The Name of the Doctor)

No comments:

Post a Comment