Wednesday, 4 July 2018

Doctor Who Vs. Sea of Souls, Series 2

The second run of this BAFTA winning supernatural drama also won the Best TV Teleplay gong for Ed Whitmore, the writer of Amulet, at the Edgar Allan Poe awards.
Bill Paterson reprised the role of Dr. Monaghan, and was now joined at Clyde University's parapsychology department by Justine McManus and Craig Stevenson, played by Dawn Steele and Iain Robertson.
The six-part season returned to BBC One in the winter of 2005, and featured another nineteen Doctor Who cast and crew connections:

Amulet (UK TX: January 8 & 9)
  • BAFTA Scotland nominee Michelle Duncan (Claire) was Lady Isobel MacLeish in Tooth and Claw
  • Big Finish actress Amanda Symonds (Lilian) voiced Lily Finnegan for Afterlife, Erica MacMillan for Night of the Stormcrow, (both 2013), One for The Abandoned, Shafira for Revenge of the Swarm, Mrs. Targate for The Ghosts of Gralstead (all 2014), and Alitha and Jill Sveinsbottir for The Memory Bank and Other Stories (2016)
  • Nigel Terry (Holloway) was General Cobb in The Doctor's Daughter
  • James Fleet (Morrison) voiced O'Reilley for Max Warp (2008), Geoff Cooper for The Entropy Composition, and Martin Ashcroft and Sir Jack Merrivale for Special Features (both part of The Demons of Red Lodge, 2010)
  • Kim McGarrity was also a stunt performer on The Empty Child, The Doctor DancesBoom TownThe Christmas Invasion, New Earth and The Day of the Doctor
  • new series producer Stephen Garwood had been an Assistant Floor Manager (AFM) on Ghost Light
  • series composer Edmund Butt and music engineer Toby Wood both worked on An Adventure in Space and Time too
  • series make-up artist Pam Mullins worked in that capacity on fifty-six installments of the revived series, from The Runaway Bride to The Wedding of River Song
  • series make-up designer Barbara Southcott held that post on Time CrashMusic of the Spheres, and seventy-three adventures, from the 2006 Christmas special to The Name of the Doctor
  • electrician Scott Napier was the gaffer on 50th anniversary special
Omen (UK TX: January 15 & 16)
  • Barbara Flynn (Summers) voiced Sister Chalice for The Skull of Sobek (2008)
  • David Gyasi (Hegarty) was Harvey in Asylum of the Daleks
  • Mark Springer (Paramedic) was Christian in The Time of Angels
  • Graham Frake was also cinematographer on The Beast Below and Victory of the Daleks
  • Jonathan Farmer was the first assistant director on Journey to the Centre of the TARDIS too
Empty Promise (UK TX: January 22 & 23)
  • Peter Guinness (Dr. Duncan here and Series 3: Rebound) voiced Mr. Dread for Dreamland, Childeric for The Holy Terror (2000), Baron Teufel for The Beast of Orlok (2009), and Rovus for The Star Men (2017)
  • Colin Salmon (Locke) was Dr. Moon in Silence in the Library and Forest of the Dead, and voiced Trooper Salway for Wirrn Dawn (2009)
  • script supervisor Sheila Johnston worked on continuity for Voyage of the DamnedPartners in CrimeThe Fires of PompeiiPlanet of the Ood and The Unicorn and the Wasp

No comments:

Post a Comment