Tuesday, 21 June 2016

Doctor Who Vs. The Jury

ITV's prime-time mini-series, The Jury II was first shown over five consecutive nights in November 2011. 
The drama centred on the story of the twelve men
and women called for jury service in the retrial of
a man accused of a triple murder, after the High Court overturned the original guilty verdict.
This courtroom drama (the follow-up to Granada's own six-part series, which aired in February 2002
- see footnote below) began another repeat run
on ITV3 last night. 
The cast, headed by Roger Allam (Endeavour) and
Julie Walters (Harry Potter) as rival QC's, featured
twenty Doctor Who cast and crew connections:

  • Ronald Pickup (Livingstone) made his TV debut as the Physician in The Reign of Terror: Tyrant of France, then later voiced Kestorian for Time Works (2006), and Elder Bones for Spaceport Fear (2013) both from Big Finish
  • Steven Mackintosh (Brierley) played Gazak in Timelash
  • Anne Reid (June) was Nurse Crane in The Curse of Fenric, and Florence Finnegan in Smith and Jones
  • Ronan Vibert (Branson) was Professor Skinner in The Sarah Jane Adventures: The Last Sontaran
  • Keith Parry (Clerk) was the Bus Driver in Planet of the Dead
  • Natasha Williams (Clerk) was a Pharmacist in Gridlock
  • Shobu Kapoor (Mum) was a Woman in Journey's End
  • Meera Syal (Headmistress) was Nasreen Choudhry in The Hungry Earth and Cold Blood
  • Danny Sapani (DI Scott) was Colonel Manton (pictured) in A Good Man Goes to War
  • Nicholas Asbury (Romeo) voiced Rowe for The Companion Chronicles release, The Many Deaths of Jo Grant (BF, 2011)
  • Ivanno Jeremiah (Takana) voiced Abasi for The Ghosts of Gralstead (BF, 2013)
  • Meg Wynn Owen (Olive) was Old Isabella in A Christmas Carol
  • John R Walker (Dent) was a Cured Patient in New Earth, an Injured Man in Evolution of the Daleks, and a Sales Rep in Planet of the Ood
  • Ivanno Jeremiah (Tahir) was Rafando in Extremis
  • Eben Young (Radio Host) was Colonel Don Brabbit in The Pyramid at the End of the World
  • Rakhee Thakrar (Sister) has been cast as new Big Finish companion Bliss
  • film editor Philip Kloss also edited The Doctor's Daughter, MidnightThe End of TimeTorchwood: Children of Earth and An Adventure in Space and Time
  • Adam Harvey was assistant editor on the 50th anniversary biopic too
  • Toby Ford was first assistant director on A Good Man Goes to War too
  • Nick Roberts was also ADR mixer on The Time of AngelsFlesh and StoneThe Vampires of VeniceCold Blood and The Lodger
The Jury (2002) starred Derek Jacobi, and eight further Doctor Who cast
 links: Nina Sosanya, Michael Maloney, Sylvia Syms, Nicholas Farrell, Ellen
Thomas, John Duttine, Paul Reynolds and Helen McCrory.

No comments:

Post a Comment